

TCDLA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Saturday, June 5, 2010, 11:30 pm Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, San Antonio, Texas

Introduction

Stanley Schneider calls the meeting to order. A quorum is present.

Roll Call:

Officers	P Steven R. Green	A James Whalen
P Stan Schneider, President	P Michael Gross	P Russell Wilson, II
P Bill Harris, President Elect	P Tip Hargrove	P Warren Wolf
E Keith Hampton, 1st VP	A John R. Heath, Jr	P Reagan Wynn
P Lydia Clay-Jackson, 2 nd VP	P Sam Lock	
P Bobby Mims, Treasurer	P Constance Luedicke	Associate Directors
P Emmett Harris, Secretary	P James Makin	P Bruce Ashworth
E Greg Westfall, Voice Editor	A Jim Marcus	P Heather Barbieri
	E Reynaldo Merino	P Lawrence Boyd
Directors	P Pat Metze	A Fred Brigman, III
P John Ackerman	P David Moore	<u>E</u> Erika Copeland
P Susan E Anderson	P Doug Murphy	P Nicole Deborde
P Kerri K. Anderson-Donica	P John Niland	P Craig Henry
P Stephen U. Baer	P Dave O'Neil	A Russell Hunt, Jr.
P Robert Barrera	P Kelly Pace	<u>P</u> Jani Maselli
P Sam Bassett	P Tom Pappas	P Todd Overstreet
E Jason Butscher	P Shawn Paschall	P Stephanie Patten
P Jaime E. Carrillo	P Bruce Ponder	P Carole Powell
A Jason Cassel	P William E. Price	P Ray Rodriguez
E Clay Conrad	P George Scharmen	P_Clay Steadman
P Harold Danford	P Mark Snodgrass	P George Taylor
P Jim Darnell	<u>E</u> Fred Stangl	<u> </u>
P Emily Detoto	P Gary Udashen	
P Danny Easterling	P Tony Vitz	

Key: P = Present; E = Absent but Excused; A = Unexcused Absence

Past Presidents in Attendance: Rick Hagen, Immediate Past-President, Charlie Butts, Mark Daniel, Tim Evans, Mike Heiskell, Scrappy Holmes, Dan Hurley, Craig Jett, Bobby Lerma, Ed Mallett, Vincent Perini, Bill Wischkaemper.

Staff: Joseph Martinez, Cynthia Hampton, Philip Wischkaemper, Melissa Schank, Craig Hattersley, Alex Chronis, Denise Garza.

Minutes from the February 2010 Board meeting in Austin are approved.

Board Meeting 6.5.10.10 Page 1

Fallen Heroes

Tom Zachary, Ft. Worth Octavia Carstarphen. Galveston Floyd Holder, Lubbock RJ Hagood, Sherman

Executive Director's Report: Joseph Martinez

Joseph reports that 5000+ lawyers have been trained this year. 820 total attendance for Rusty.

Membership – our complimentary membership project (3 free memberships per year for each board member to give out to first-time members) has been a great success.

Philip reports on the strategic management project that Tech has been working on for TCDLA.

Capital Assistance report:

There are 9 new death sentences. Brad Levinson of California is the only candidate referred to CCA for the State Capital Habeas Counsel.

Appellate Specialization

Stan attended a meeting with the Supreme Court and reports on the specialization's status.

CCA Forensics Seminar

Stan attended a meeting called by Hervey and gives a report on her plans for a seminar in Austin in September.

CDLP Report – Mark Snodgrass

Mark reports on the CDLP Guidelines produced by a committee composed of Bill Harris, Craig Jett and himself.

- ➤ Motion to accept new CDLP Guidelines
- ➤ Motion Carries

Publication report: Cynthia Hampton

TCDLA's publications are selling steadily. The new ones that came out this year are Appellate Manual, 2nd ed, Rules of Evidence and Procedure, 2009-10 Annotated Criminal Codebook (PC/CCP combined volume) Search & Seizure update, and Trial Notebook update.

Cynthia reports on Lang Baker's proposal to create a Confessions Manual for TCDLA. At February's meeting a committee (Mike Gross and Pat Metze) was appointed by Stan to investigate and advise the board whether to accept the proposal. The committee's report was to reject the proposal. The board took no action on the matter.

Online Voice: In absence of Greg Westfall, Cynthia Hampton reports on project for online Voice. It will be open to members and non-members. We particularly want law students to have access.

Board Meeting 6.5.10.10 Page 2

By-law Change: Lifetime membership: Tabled until next meeting.

Committee reports: the following committees reports were given

Amicus

Corrections, by Dave O'Neil **Innocence** by Jeff Blackburn

Nominations Committee: Bill Harris

.

Old and New Business

Resolutions Congratulating HCCLA on its $40^{\rm th}$ Anniversary and recognizing Jim Levine as President of NACDL are adopted.

Awards/recognitions

John Ackerman, Richard Anderson, Susan Anderson, Kerri Anderson, Sam Bassett, Henry Bemporad, Jeff Blackburn, Lawrence Boyd, David, Burrows, Lydia Clay-Jackson, Mimi Coffey, Paul Conner, John Convery, Mark Daniel, Danny Easterling, Tim Evans, Richard Gladden, Rick Hagen, Keith Hampton, Emmett Harris, William Harris, Michael Heiskell, Clifton Holmes, Craig Jett, Jeanette Kinard, Edward Mallett, Troy McKinney, Bobby Mims, Angela Moore, David Moore, Gerry Morris, Doug Murphy, John Niland, David O'Neil, Kelly Pace, James Pape, Tom Pappas, Reagan Wynn, Walter Reaves, Kent Schaffer, Grant Scheiner, Mark Snodgrass, Jack Stoffregen, Gary Trichter, Gary Udashen, Greg Westfall, Dan Hurley

Swearing-in of Officers and Directors

Adjourn: 1:15 pm

Respectfully submitted, Joseph A. Martinez Executive Director

Board Meeting 6.5.10.10 Page 3